Modeling time-based graphs in Grakn

I keep running into situations where I need to model temporal states in the graph structures I’m creating. The current situation I’m dealing with is updating GitDetective to allow querying source code references and filtering by some temporal predicate. This would allow for the creation of trend graphs showing when and to what degree a project on GitHub is used by other projects.

In order to achieve this I’ve been looking into how to store temporal data in graphs and to the best of my knowledge the general principles to follow are:

Below I will present the current scenario I’m working with and the solution I’ve come up with. I’m no expert when it comes to graphs so I’m hoping the Grakn developers could point me in the right direction.

Scenario

Essentially I wish to store a particular Thing at a specific Date and Time. A Date can have several Time entities attached to it and a Time entity can have many Thing entities attached to it. A Thing entity may be marked as either added or deleted. In my scenario a Date is some given day and a Time is a given hour in that day.

In addition to these constraints a Thing may be inserted into a Date/Time which precedes a previously inserted Thing and querying the aggregated counts over a somewhat large Date/Time range should be feasible and not correlated to the quantity of Thing entities which are stored. Ideally it should be correlated to the Date/Time range only.

Solution

Schema:

define

#attributes
dayMonthYear sub attribute datatype string;
hour sub attribute datatype long;
date_index sub attribute datatype long;
time_index sub attribute datatype long;
data sub attribute datatype string;
added sub attribute datatype boolean;

#entities
Date sub entity
    has dayMonthYear
    plays has_time
    plays has_most_recent_thing;

Time sub entity
    has hour
    plays is_time
    plays has_thing
    plays has_most_recent_thing;

Thing sub entity
    has data
    has date_index