Why is inference better/easier in a knowledge graph?

I’m completely new to Knowledge Graph so apologise for the noob question.

I’m trying to understand how inference works in practice and why inference is easier/better in a knowledge graph than in a traditional relational database. I’ve read that inference can be based on type (e.g. a car is defined as a vehicle, and a vehicle can be driven a car will inherit the “drivenness” capability) or defined rules (if x is in y and y is in z then x is in z). Why can’t this be achieved as easily in a relational database? Is it because organising data in a graph makes the query easier?

Again sorry for the basic question, I hope it makes sense. I’ve been looking around but can’t get my head around how inference works.

This is a very good and open-ended question.

If we are directly interested in the performance, your question basically boils down to a relational vs graph db question which is a widely discussed topic. This gives a short answer to the question without providing much insight. The key point, however, is how inference and reasoning processes work and how they can be realised in a database context.

Focusing on the logical deduction - a process which obtains a logically certain conclusion from a set of premises, it can be viewed as attempting to find new relations (in a graph case, more generally connections) between entities already present in the database. This process typically involves operating on many-to-many or complex relationships as the sought relation between given entities can easily involve multiple attributes (entities can be multiple hops away).